Hey, question! Some of you have noticed that some follow requests appear as follow requests even though your account is not locked. This is a sort of "junk" filter system and based on your server's moderators decisions (not algorithm). We're adding a message that explains this to the follow requests screen, how does this text sound?

"While your account is not locked, follow requests from accounts your server's staff has deemed suspicious require manual review for your safety"

#mastodev

Updated: "Even though your account is not locked, the [server name] staff thought you might want to review follow requests from these accounts manually"

#mastodev

Follow

@Gargron What is the exact scenario when this happens? I'd suggest putting more factual information in the message, and less vague text ("server staff thought" or "you might want to"). So if it's when moderators have chosen to 'block' the server, the message could be:

The moderators of [server name] have decided to block [other server name]. Therefore, you have to manually review follow requests from their users.

This also increases user autonomy since they get some insight in how it works.

Sign in to participate in the conversation
Mastodon U. Twente

A social network for the University of Twente community. Anyone with an @utwente.nl or @*.utwente.nl email address can create an account here and participate in the global fediverse with millions of other users. This means that students, staff and alumni can create an account here. Content does not reflect the opinions or policies of the University of Twente.
-
We support \( \LaTeX \) formulas: Use \( and \) for inline LaTeX formulas, and \[ and \] for display mode.